An Interview with MJ

cropped-1f761-mjsummers2fullsize.jpgWhat does 2015 hold for your readers? Any new projects coming our way? This year is shaping up to be an exciting one! My first two novels are currently being translated by World Czech, Euromedia and World Slovakian, Ikar, which is a dream come true for me. My third and fourth novels in the series will be out this year, as well. I’m hoping to have Breaking Clear (Book 3) out in June and Breaking Hearts (Book 4) out in November.

How do you feel about the success of “Break in Two,” looking back? You must be so proud of that novel. I am still in awe of what happened with Break in Two when I look back at last year, and knowing it’s now on shelves all over Canada and the UK. Every trip I make to our major book seller, Chapters, or to the grocery store or pharmacy, I stop to look at my books and grin to myself. I really am proud, but more than that, I’m so very grateful for all of the people who have been a part of it and have taken a chance on it.

Then there’s your new novel “Breaking Love.” How have reviews been for that book so far? Breaking Love has been very well-received so far, even earning a nod from Kirkus Reviews last month. Kirkus was the nerve-wracking one for me, and when it came in, it was cause for celebration around our house. I couldn’t be more pleased.

Would you ever allow the “Full Hearts” series to become a series of movies or would you prefer they stayed as books? To me, that’s like asking a marathon runner if they’d like to medal at the Olympics. I would be absolutely thrilled to see the series in film. To hear the words spoken, watch the story come to life and listen to music that would accompany it, I can’t imagine much better than that.

BreakingLoveDualCoverDo you have any favourite authors at the moment? Is there anyone you can see becoming the new MJ Summers? I’ve had no time to read for pleasure in quite a while, but I do have a few authors on the top of my list as soon as I do have a chance. Jennifer Sage, Bella Andre and Aly Martinez, to name a few. Once I finish writing this series, I plan to take a few months off to just read.

The new MJ Summers. That question made me snort-laugh. I’m no Nora Roberts!

You are a keen blogger these days. How did that come about? A lot of my blogging is about keeping romance alive. I think it’s come about because I honestly want people to be happy and have all that delicious romance that I write about in their real lives. My husband and I are so in love still. Even after twenty-two years (fourteen years of marriage), we both can never seem to get enough of each other. The funny thing is we both work from home, but we stay up ridiculously late every night so we can have more time together. I wish that kind of love for everyone.

How do you pace yourself with such a heavy schedule? Do you keep a schedule at hand? A PA? How do you cope? It’s insanity here a lot of the time. I probably need a PA but so far have had no time to hire/train someone. I put things into my Outlook calendar most of the time. I also have a series of to-do lists on post-it notes all over my desk.

Many authors keep saying that “anyone” can write a book. Do you believe that’s true? Can anyone write a book? I think everyone has a story to tell. And everyone has a story that only he or she can tell. Writing is like any other endeavour—the more you work on it and learn about it, the better you can become. It’s a matter of determination, hard work, and to some extent, fearlessness.

Do you believe books like “Break in Two,” “Breaking Love” and “Don’t Let Go” are taking the stigma out of erotica? Do you believe erotica is becoming mainstream? To both questions, my answer is I hope so. I think in its own small way, erotica can serve a positive role in the world. Sex done well completes the experience of a love story. It can serve an instructional purpose and help a reader explore his/her own fantasies and preferences, hopefully with less embarrassment around the topic. That type of openness can lead to more satisfying relationships. In my books, it’s about passion and generosity, but it’s also about respect.

What are the three things you couldn’t live without? My family, My friends, Time to be out in nature

Leave a Reply

